Niagara Historical Society Museumbanner


Temporary Exhibitions


From Head to Toe

May 16- October 31, 2019
An exhibition featuring original clothing from the late 18th to the mid 20th centuries.

Permanent Exhibitions


Our Story

As visitors enter the Museum they will explore 9,000 years of history in the first gallery of the Museum. This gallery contains artefacts from the Museum as they relate to the chronological history of the town. From Native history to the tourism boom of the 1970s, the gallery contains such significant artefacts as a powder horn belonging to Chief Joseph Brant, the Indian Department Coatee worn by Daniel Servos during the American Revolutionary War, uniforms from the War of 1812 and other items from Niagara's long history.

There is a video component to "Our Story" which features 9 short videos on the history of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Handheld tablets are available upon entrance for visitors who would like to include an audio/visual experience with their visit. This video presentation was generously funded by DAVID MURRAY & ELIZABETH SURTEES

The Carnochan Gallery

The upper gallery of Memorial Hall is dedicated to the founder of the Museum and Society, Janet Carnochan. The gallery contains various significant artefacts in the collection. These range from paintings to early Canadianna furniture. The artefacts are rotated on a regular basis to show visitors the impressive collection secured by the Museum.


Digital Exhibitions


Memories of Niagara

A joint project between the Niagara Historical Society and the Niagara-on-the-Lake Public Library, this online exhibit features the stories of individuals who have lived in the Town and Township of Niagara-on-the-Lake since the early 1900s. Click HERE to learn more about what it was like to live in Niagara before the 1970s through these informative oral history recordings.

Niagara on the Eve of War

A database that explores life in Niagara (Niagara-on-the-Lake) just prior to the War of 1812 through the knowledge of property owners and the war loss compensation claims which describe their homes both inside and out! Check out who was living in our Town just prior to its burning on December 10th, 1813. Click HERE to start learning more!

Back to Top

® Image: View of Fort George, Oil on canvass, C. Kreighoff 1823